The begininng

I’m planning my first “Meta Day” tomorrow.  (A full day of Meta’s recommended menu).  Today, I  had some prep work that I needed to do ahead of time.

First up, I needed some bacon grease for a recipe.  It wasn’t included on the shopping list, so I suppose it’s something Meta expects every homemaker to have on hand (which isn’t the case in my post-80s fat-free kitchen)  In order to prep my grease, I made recipe 850, Bacon and Tomato Sandwiches, for lunch today.  I know this sandwich as a BLT but it Meta also added butter in addition to the mayo.  (Evidently butter is a must for every sandwich in this book).

851

(Opened to view the mayo-ed and buttered glory)

Clearly this was delish.

I also made dessert for tomorrow since it was technically suppose to be made for today with leftovers for tomorrow.  Behold recipe 219, Cocoanut Fingers.

IMG_0180

They kind of look like a pile of hash browns in the photo, but they were very tasty.  A clever use of stale bread, it’s basically just bread sliced into “fingers” and dipped in condensed milk and shredded coconut with a quick trip to the oven to brown.  I really enjoyed the chewy sweet flavor as did my husband.  The recipe mentions that they become crisp upon cooling so I’ll be interested to see what they are like tomorrow.  (*note: they really never got crisp, but the flavor intensified and as incredible even three days later).

I tried two new things today: buying white sandwich bread (a first for me!) and saving bacon grease.  I’m looking forward to tomorrow.

219 Cocoanut Fingers

8 slices day-old white bread

1 c. sweetened condensed milk

1 1/2 c. moist shredded cocoanut

1) Preheat over to 325.  Cut crust off of bread and cut each slice each into four “fingers.”

2) Dip bread slices into the milk and roll in the coconut.  (I ran out of cocoanut way before using up the bread).

3) Place on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

