Thursday, Dec. 6th

Today’s Menu:

Breakfast:

grape juice 707

Rolled Oats with top milk 168

Toast with butter, jelly 704a (apple jelly)

Luncheon:

Eggs in Cheese Sauce 384

on toast

Cole Slaw 786

Spice Cake 114

Stewed Apples 272

tea for adults (milk for children)

Dinner:

Codfish Cakes 423

Buttered parsnips 1057

Stewed Tomatoes 1111

bread and butter

Stewed Dried Apricots 274

coffee for adults (milk for children)

I’m the idiot who got myself into this bizarre situation, but dagnabbit!  This is a lot of work.  To prep for today, I woke up early yesterday so I could go shopping before work.  Yesterday evening, I boiled an egg for 384, soaked the dried apricots for 274, made 786, defrosted codfish for 423, and laid out everything to make 114 this morning.  I woke up early again today to make 114, Spice Cake this morning since I wouldn’t have enough time during lunch (or luncheon).

Breakfast: Just like the last Meta day, breakfast was quick, easy and satisfying.  I love breakfast; it’s almost impossible to screw up.  I didn’t actually make and can the grape juice and apple jelly so there wasn’t that much to screw up  anyway.  On a side note, I haven’t had grape juice in years so it was kind of weird (not in a bad way, just unusual).

100_0638[1]

Lunch(eon):  I wasn’t looking forward to 384, Eggs in Cheese Sauce since I’ve made the nearly identical 383, Creamed Eggs, which is the same recipe but without the cheese.  The notation I made beside 383 was “slightly nauseating” so I didn’t think the cheese would be catapulting me into culinary ecstasy.  (Although cheese is food magic along with bacon).  The results were better than I remember but it was BLAND!  I broke and added a good dose of pepper.  I think I would have enjoyed a cooked egg and cheese on toast with a glass of milk much more.

786, Cole Slaw was quite tasty.  The dressing was a simple mix of mayo, sour cream, sugar and salt but it was crunchy and simply satisfying.

272, Stewed Apples were another winner.  I cheated (shh! Don’t tell Meta) and didn’t pare the apples because the skins were a pretty red and I was a little afraid that the meal promised to be a monotonous tone of white and brown. (See breakfast; however, the pastel green and yellow of the slaw and egg, respectively, added a bit more color than I’d imagined). The results were warm, sweet and satisfying.  I’m going to save the leftover (spectacularly pink) syrup and use it over pancakes.  Sidenote: Meta suggested Jonathans, Rhode Island Greenings, Northern Spies or Baldwins as recommended varieties of apples in this recipe.  The only type I could find (or had even heard of were Jonathans).  Dang industrial farming.

114, Spice Cake was another recipe I took a little liberty with.  The recipe said it made 10-14 serving and I knew my husband and I would never made it through that much cake before it went stale.  I went ahead and make cupcakes (assuming Meta would approve of the thrift).  I also skipped the frosting suggested in the body of the recipe since I had already previous made the suggested 135, Orange Butter Frosting (and it was delish).  Also, these meals are substantially richer than I’m used to so the thought of another dollop of butter wasn’t calling to me when I woke up at unfortunate-o’clock to bake these puppies.  The taste?  Awesome!  (It was a cake after all).  The inside was moist and rich and the outside has a slight syrup-y crunch.

An interesting recipe note from 114 was that the recipe called for “a few grains of cayenne pepper.”  (Optional of course).  I was super surprised to see cayenne show up in this book at all (wonder if it will even come up again?)  The “few grains” measurement  is descriptive yet bizarre.

100_0640[1]

Dinner:  I couldn’t find the salt cod called for in Codfish Cakes, 423, but I did find frozen codfish pieces at Trader Joe’s.  I’ll count myself lucky since according to the Wikipedia entry, codfish isn’t highly available due to overfishing.  If I find myself in Norway, I’ll make a note to see if I can pick some salt cod up.

Dinner as a whole wasn’t much to write home about.  Don’t get me wrong.  It was palatable and filling, it just wasn’t very interesting.  The Codfish Cakes were pretty good but could have used more fish (although the barely perceptible  fish flavor was my husband’s favorite part).  1057, Buttered Parsnips weren’t my favorite mostly because they tasted like parsnips.  Even butter couldn’t hide that.  1111, Stewed Tomatoes were pretty good.  (Unfortunately they also contained lots of onion which my husband won’t touch so I’ll be chowing down on them again tomorrow).  The Stewed Dried Apricots, 274, weren’t as good as the Stewed Apples at lunch but were decent.  My favorite part was the bread and butter since I broke out my bread machine and made a tasty 10 grain loaf.

Tonight’s dinner really made me think of the time period that it came out of right at the end of the Great Depression and at the beginning of WWI.  It  didn’t amaze me but I’m sure most people who were able to eat a meal like this in Meta’s time appreciated the variety and health a menu like this would have offered.  The ingredients were damn cheap too.

(Frankly, this dinner probably will never show up on my table again, but then again Meta has 364 other dinners for me to try).

100_0641[1]

Leave a Reply

