11 Eggnog

I was feeling  some nice Christmas cheer this evening while perusing The Modern Family Cook Book and decided to make a traditional Christmas favorite–eggnog.  I actually have never been a fan of eggnog.  It has a weird texture and why is it served cold during winter?  Anyhoo, I figured why not?  If I’m going to make all of the recipes in this book, I’ll get to this eventually.

100_0674[1]

My first sip wasn’t pleasant. I licked some of the nutmeg-laden meringue and thought it was pretty tasty.  I took several sips and the flavor grew on me.  This is really much better than the commercial brands I’ve tried before.  This is never going to be a favorite, but I actually liked this fairly well (for a potentially disease-causing drink).

11 Eggnog

3 eggs

2 1/2 TBSP sugar, divided

4 cups milk

1 tsp vanilla

pinch of salt

nutmeg to taste

1) Separate the yolk and egg of one clean egg (preferably not by passing from shell to shell since the shell is a likely carrier of salmonella).

2) Beat the yolk and whole two eggs; add sugar and beat thoroughly.  Sir in the milk, vanilla and salt and pour into 5 glasses.

3) Beat the single egg white and add sugar just before it stiffens and continue beating until stiff.

4) Add a spoonful of meringue to each glass and sprinkle with nutmeg.  Enjoy.

5) Pray that the raw egg consumption doesn’t catch up to you.

One thought on “11 Eggnog

Leave a Reply

