Friday, December 21st

Breakfast:

tomato juice 719a

Hot Wheat Cereal 169 with

top milk

whole wheat toast with butter

Jam 702 (peach butter)

coffee (milk for children)

Luncheon:

Puffy Omelet 402 with

Broiled Bacon 544

Molded Cabbage and Pineapple Salad 809

tea (milk for children)

Dinner:

Quick-Baked Whitefish 415

Quick Escalloped Potatoes 1075

Buttered Broccoli 1007

bread and butter

Tapioca Cream 367 with

Strawberry Jam 711

coffee (milk for children)

It’s hard to complain about a Meta breakfast.  Warm and filling as usual.  I’m not use to drinking tomato juice at breakfast; it wasn’t orange juice but fruit serving achieved (with a side o’ salt).  Meta called for 702, Peach Butter as the jam.  I couldn’t find any so I subbed apple butter.

100_0675[1]

I was gleefully excited to see a molded salad on the menu for lunch!  Evidently I was way too optimistic.  809 Molded Cabbage and Pineapple Salad took forever to set up.  I got so hungry that I gave in and made the other lunch items and ate before it was ready.

100_0680[1]

Admittedly, I was hungry, but 402 Puffy Omelet and 544 Broiled Bacon were quite tasty.  The omelet had a really interested souffle-like texture with a crispy, buttery top and a very light interior.  (Recipe follows!)  I halved it and cooked it in a smaller skillet with no noticeable harm.  You can tell from the picture that I didn’t quite have the attention span required to perfectly oven-broil the bacon since the edges are a bit burnt, but as Meta promised it was pleasingly free of greasiness and nicely crisp.

A closeup of the inside of the omelet:

402 Puffy Omelet Meta Given The Modern Family Cookbook

The second half of lunch (finally served two hours later) was kind of a flop, literally and figuratively.  Here’s what came itself out of the mold:

809 Moldeed Cabbage and Pineapple Salad Meta Given The Modern Family Cookbook

It looked kinda like a neon yellow brain splatted on the plate.  I pressed on and served as suggested:

100_0684[1]

The first sensation was a relatively pleasant taste of pineapple and lemon.  Then it hit me.  Cabbage!!  The dissonance between the sweet fruit and the cabbage was alarming.    I then went to try some of the recommended mayo (note the tiny pile at the side) and was hit the realization that mayo shouldn’t be allowed anywhere near this concoction.  I valiantly pushed on for several more bites (including trying the beleaguered lettuce) but to no avail.  This shit sucks.  Nine more molded salads to go.  Oh boy!

Dinner did much to restore my confidence in Meta.  I pulled out all stops and made 66 Ice Box Rolls for the bread and butter in the menu.  (Fantastic by the way!!) I liked everything about dinner.  415 Quick-baked Whitefish was quite good.  (and I even made the breadcrumbs myself).  1075 Quick Escalloped Potatoes was a solid entry in the potato category.  1007 Buttered Broccoli was my second go-around for this recipe so I took the liberty of using romanesco broccoli.  Dinner was, however, really brown.

100_0688[1]

 

Dessert, 367 Tapioca Cream, didn’t quite go my way.  It never ended up thickening, but it was at least, very tasty.  Meta has eight more tapioca recipes for me, so I guess I’ll need to do some trouble-shooting.  I’m excited to try 367 again though because it has a lot of promise (once I figure out what I did wrong!)

100_0689[1]

402 Puffy Omelet

6 eggs, whites and yolks separated

1 tsp salt

2 to 4 TBSP butter

Separate whites and yolks into two separate bowls.  Beat the eggs whites until stiff with an electric egg beater.  Then beat the yolks with the salt until thick and light yellow.  Fold the egg whites into the yolks.  Melt the butter in a large oven-proof skillet over low heat (when I say low, I mean it; use the lowest setting).  Pour in the egg and then do nothing!  Do not touch!  This is not a French omelet.  Set the timer for 20 minutes and walk away.  Meta suggest putting the omelet into an oven set at 350 for 2-5 minutes just to try out the top a bit.  (I don’t think this step is particularity necessary since this omelet is already walking the crisp/dry line).  Loosen with a spatula, cut a line through the center so you can fold it in half.  Serves 5 Americans from the 1940s or 3-4 modern American adults.

2 thoughts on “Friday, December 21st

  1. Molded salads are a completely incomprehensible “innovation” in my opinion — kudos for trying, but bleah! 🙂

    I think the biggest tapioca challenge is just cooking, cooking, cooking. There are many faster types of pudding, not to mention “new-fangled” instant JellO pudding, so it just feels very counterintuitive to keep cooking SO long… but it can be done! Good luck.

    Like

  2. Agreed–I’m completely flummoxed by the idea that taking perfectly good ingredients and adding gelatine can in any way make the original ingredients any better. My stepmom (in her 50s) came over and ate a bunch of the leftover and declared it tasty!?

    Thanks! I’ve got to try tapioca again soon since it’s in my cupboard anyway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

