Breakfast for Dinner

There’s nothing I love more than breakfast for dinner (brinner?) Anyway, Christmas night was the perfect night for a dinner of 64 Banana Waffles, 546 Baked Bacon and 736 Banana, Apple, and Cranberry Salad.

I was intrigued by the idea of 736 Banana, Apple and Cranberry Salad because banana seemed like a mismatched ingredient.  Apples and cranberries are a classic combo, but bananas?

IMG_7965

However, this turned out to be a surprise favorite.

IMG_7979

For dinner, I served my portion on the suggested lettuce figuring that the lettuce would end up in the trash, but it actually worked fairly well with the rest of the ingredients.  I ended up eating all of the lettuce in addition to happily consuming the salad.  I’m not that big on sweet, so I’m probably going to reduce the sugar a bit next time I make it (and I am planning on making it again), but my husband, and probably most American palates, would be happy with the sweetness level.

64 Banana Waffles were also quite nice.  They had a fairly subtle banana flavor but it was definitely there.  546 Baked Bacon was my last of Meta’s three bacon preparation methods.  It was probably my least favorite, but the prep was completely non-active and still delicious (it’s bacon!)

736 Banana, Apple, and Cranberry Salad

736 Banana, Apple, and Cranberry Salad

3/4 c. cranberries, washed

1/3 c. water

1/2 c. sugar

1 c. diced ripe banana

3/4 c. diced apple, unpeeled

lettuce to serve, if desired

Add cranberries and water to a medium pan and heat over medium until the cranberries start popping.  Stir in the sugar.  Refrigerate.  (If you are going to serve the salad right away, you may want to also refrigerate the bananas at this time for a uniform salad temperature).  Lightly combine the cranberries in syrup with the banana and apple, taking care not to mash the banana.  Serve on lettuce if desired.  (Meta also suggest serving with mayonnaise….)  3-5 servings.

Bah humbug! from Boma. (Merry Christmas from me)

Bah humbug! from Boma the cat.  (Merry Christmas! from me).

Leave a Reply

