Thursday, December 27th

Breakfast:

dates in Cooked Wheat Cereal 169 with top milk

toast with butter, Jelly 709 (grape jelly)

coffee for adults (milk for children)

Luncheon:

Cream of Tomato Soup 960

Melba Toast with butter 58

Sweet Potato Salad 800

peaches (canned)

tea for adults (milk for children)

Dinner:

Creamed Shrimps 462

Boiled Rice 174

Buttered Spinach 1094

whole wheat bread and butter

Prune and Orange Jelly 332

coffee for adults (milk for children)

Breakfast was, as usual, tasty, warm and filling.  The dates were a nice addition to the farina.  I also realized that this is the 5th full menu day that I’ve done so far and all have featured a hot cereal for breakfast.  Not a complaint by any means, but I’m looking forward to a n0n-cereal day so I can try out some more breakfast recipes.

IMG_7990

Lunch was a bit of a mixed bag.  960 Cream of Tomato Soup was a fail.  The recipe involved heating the tomato portion of the soup while making a white sauce separately.  Meta indicates that if both are heated to the same temperature, then there would be no curdling.  I didn’t use a thermometer, but I figured that if both were hot, it wouldn’t be a problem.  That was not the case.

IMG_7996

I put it through a sieve again to remove most of the chunks, but there were still some small floating blobs.  It was still decently edible, but a bit too sweet for my taste.  If this comes up again, I’ll try Meta’s suggested variation of condensed tomato soup mixed with milk (one of the few references to canned soup I’ve found!)

58 Melba Toast was pretty good–a textural change up from standard toast.  I quite enjoyed 800 Sweet Potato Salad.  It was a good, simple variation on potato salad.  Which was good, because I didn’t make it through much of the soup or canned peaches.  I don’t have anything against canned peaches, but I tried the type in heavy syrup and it was way too sweet for my taste (a theme here?)

IMG_8002

Meta doesn’t make any specifications about whether canned fruit is in syrup or juice, but I’m guessing most canned fruit at the time would have had sugar.  Her recipe for 717 Canned Peaches involves 12 cups of sugar (for 16 quarts of peaches).  However, she does mention in the canning intro that “it is possible to water-pack fruits without sugar if desired”, so I’m probably going to go with juice packed in the future to avoid waste even though it might not be the most authentic option.

Speaking of fruit juice, I have a bonus recipe! (Or perhaps a penalty recipe?)  13 Fruit Buttermilk is a combination of buttermilk and fruit juice.  Meta says that its a good way to use up the juice drained from canned fruit, so I dutifully used the juice drained from the peaches and mixed it in a 1:2 ratio with buttermilk.  Sugar can be added to suit taste; my taste buds said no.

IMG_7995

It was awful!  It tasted like liquified cottage cheese gone bad.  The buttermilk overwhelmed any peach flavor.  Ugh. Buttermilk must be an acquired tasted.

Back to the program:  Dinner was pretty tasty.  174 Boiled Rice worked fine, but I’ve have a Japanese rice maker, so it seemed like a lot of work comparatively.  462 Creamed Shrimp was good; it actually struck me as something I would have absolutely loved as a kid.  It was a very simple recipe; just shrimp heated in a white sauce, but I liked the creamy sauce mixed with the rice.  The recipe also called for capers or chopped sweet pickle.  I went for the capers (I believe I’ve already established my preference for savory today), and they were a flavorful garnish.  1094 Buttered Spinach was a solid recipe (5-10 minute boiling time so not really overcooked as I had feared).

IMG_8003

Dessert, 332 Prune and Orange Jelly, was a true warrior’s dessert.   I actually really like prunes, but I still think the texture and flavor combination of the prunes and oranges really worked.  Overall, a good day of meals. Thanks Meta.

IMG_8007

 

800 Sweet Potato Salad

3 cups (about 2 lbs) diced cooked sweet potatoes

1 1/2 cups diced celery

1 tsp salt

3 TBSP French Dressing (841) or Mayonnaise (843)

Lettuce

Mix all ingredients together and serve on lettuce.  If you use mayonnaise as the dressing, Meta recommends first marinating the potatoes and celery in the French Dressing for a half-hour and then draining the French Dressing before mixing with the mayo.  (This is what I did and the French Dressing imparted a very nice flavor; recipe is below and is very tasty on it’s own). 5 servings.

841 French Dressing

2/3 cup salad oil

1/3 cup cider vinegar

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp sugar (or to taste)

1/16 tsp dry mustard

1/16 black pepper

1 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp grated onion

Whisk or shake together until thoroughly combined.

332 Prune and Orange Jelly

1/4 lb dried pruces

1 package orange-flavored gelatine

1 cup boiling water

3/4 cup cold water

2 oranges, peeled and sliced or diced

Soak prunes overnight (just enough water to cover).  Drain, reserving water.  Remove stones if any and cut into quarters.  Add gelatine to a mixing bowl; stir in boiling water until dissolved.  Measure out the 3/4 cup cold water, using the prune soaking liquid and adding additional water if necessary.  Stir in the prunes and refrigerate until partially congealed.  Add oranges and refrigerate until firm.  5 servings.

Leave a Reply

