Sunday, January 6th

Breakfast:

Tomato Juice 719a

French Toast 56     (subbing Hawaiian French Toast 57)

coffee for adults (milk for children)

Dinner:

Beef Pot Roast 500 with

Gravy 468 and vegetables

bread and butter

head lettuce, Russian Dressing 846

Gingerbread with Whipped Cream and Orange Wedges 123

coffee for adults (milk for children)

Supper:

Ham Salad Sandwiches 857

Apple Sauce 261 (subbing 262 “Dressed Up” Canned Apple Sauce)

Cocoa For All 4 (subbing 2 Cocoa for Adults)

Yay!  My first Sunday menu.  Meta plans for a large midday dinner and a small supper, but since my husband won’t be home until evening, I am switching the two meals.

Breakfast, coincidentally, is the same thing I had on my last Meta day, 56 French Toast.  I decided to go ahead and substitute 57 Hawaiian French Toast (and I’m glad I did).  I though 56 was just fine but 57 Hawaiian French Toast was utterly delightful.  The base of pineapple juice, eggs and cinnamon had a distinct pineapple flavor that was delightful.  Yum!  The only low-light was the tomato juice (which really doesn’t strike me as a breakfast food–too salty, especially paired with a sweet dish!)

IMG_8026

I wasn’t really looking forward to “supper.”  I’ve had ham salad sandwiches before as a kid living in Texas, and I remember hating them with a passion.  857 Ham Salad Sandwiches were edible, but not great.  Looking at the photo in retrospect; it looks fairly disgusting.  Will not make again.

When lunch rolled around, I reached went to the refrigerator and found no apples to make 261 Apple Sauce.  I was really surprised because I had recently bought a 10 lb box of apples and thought I’d never get through them.  To substitute, I made 262 “Dressed Up” Canned Apple Sauce.  She has several suggestions for “dressing up” canned apple and I went with a little lemon juice and lemon rind.  It was actually a really nice addition.

I made 2 Cocoa for Adults instead of 4 Cocoa for All since I was the only one eating supper.  It was very nice and better than the stuff from a mix.

IMG_8030

After not enjoying the sandwich at lunch, dinner was pleasantly delicious and satisfying.  500 Beef Pot Roast with Vegetables was pretty good considering I don’t usually enjoy well cooked beef.  Even better were the veggies cooked along with the roast.  They were so tender and flavorful.  468 Gravy was good but a bit salty.  846 Russian Dressing (1:1 ratio of mayo and chili sauce) was surprisingly good considering that chili sauce hasn’t stood the test of time.

IMG_8032

Dessert, 123 Gingerbread with Whipped Cream and Orange Wedges rocked my world.  Yummy! The gingerbread itself, was nicely spiced and moist.  The whipped cream and oranges accented it really well.

IMG_8033

57 Hawaiian French Toast

2 eggs

dash salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 TBSP sugar

2/3 cup pineapple juice

6 slices white bread

4 TBSP butter

3 slices pineapple, heated (or 6 slices if preferred)

Beat the eggs and mix them with the salt, cinnamon, sugar and juice.  Soak the bread in this mixture.  Melt the butter in a heavy skillet (start with half and add more as needed).  Cook bread until browned on both sides and serve with a slice of pineapple on top of each piece.  Meta suggest cutting each pineapple slice in half to make two thin slices, which I prefer it with the whole slice (Makes 3 servings of two slices each).

123 Gingerbread with Whipped Cream and Orange Wedges

1 2/3 cup AP flour

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 tsp ginger

1 1/12 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp cloves

1 tsp allspice

1 1/2 tsp baking sodda

2/3 c. boiling water

1/3 c. sugar

2/3 c. molasses or sorghum

1/4 c. melted shortening

1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 325 F.  Spray a muffin tin with non-stick spray.  Mix flour baking powder and salt well.  Met says to mix the spices with the baking soda and boiling water in a separate (which I did), but I’m not really sure why.  Mix the sugar, molasses and shortening well in yet another bowl.  Add the flour mixture and spice mixture and stir until well mixed.  Spoon batter evenly into muffin cups and bake for 25-30 minutes.  Let cool and serve with whipped cream and orange wedges.

Leave a Reply

