Friday, October 5th

Breakfast:

Stewed Prunes 301

Cooked Whole Wheat Cereal 168 or 170 with top milk

toast with butter

Jelly (Crab Apple Jelly) 704

coffee for adults (milk for children)

Lunch(eon):

Shrimp Salad 836

potato chips

bread and butter

Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding 366

milk for all

Dinner:

Italian Spaghetti with Meat Sauce 486

Buttered Parsnips 1057

(substituted Buttered Celery 1020)

Orange and Raisin Salad 755

bread and butter

tokay grapes

coffee for adults (milk for children)

Breakfast was pleasing (as breakfast foods nearly inevitable are).  I enjoyed 301 Stewed Prunes more than I feel someone my age should.  Along with the cracked wheat cereal and whole grain bread, breakfast was filling (and fiber-rific).  I used apple jam instead of the elusive crab apple jelly (I’m going to be very excited if I ever see it in a store).

10.6 Breakfast

Lunch was the surprisingly good 836 Shrimp Salad which was pretty tasty with a surprisingly almost-spicy chili sauce.  Also a non-homemade item on a Meta menu:  behold the potato chip!  If only I could find some fried in lard, I would be period specific.  Lunch was rounded out by bread and butter, milk (I made 18a Hot Milk since it was such a cold day) and grapes (switching desserts with dinner).  Purple grapes that is; no idea where where one would find tokay grapes

10.5.13 lunch 2

For dinner, I’ve really been looking forward to trying Meta’s 486 Italian Spaghetti with Meat Sauce (in fact, I feel a little thrill every time I see an “ethnic” dish).  I felt a strange glee that the recipe contained nary a single herb or clove of garlic and called for 20 minutes of cooking time for the pasta.  The results was decidedly un-Italian but still pretty good.  My husband described it as “Manwich on pasta.”   Fair enough.  Also, the recipe called for 3 tablespoons of bacon drippings and never mentioned draining off fat so I assumed that she didn’t intend for me to do so.  It made for a hearty dish.

Since I’ve made 1057 Buttered Parsnips before, I went with 1020 Buttered Celery instead.  Shockingly tasty.  I’ve never considered celery to be a cooking vegetable, but it was covered in butter…

10.5.13 Dinner 2

Dessert, 366 Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding wasn’t bad.  I’m not a big fan of it myself (who says rice in a puddle of milk constitutes dessert?), but my husband is a big fan so I gave it a whirl.  I have to say that it wasn’t really worth the 3 hour cooking time though.

IMG_0325

486 Italian Spaghetti with Meat Sauce

3 TBSP bacon drippings

1 medium onion, chopped fine

1 lb. hamburger

1 tsp salt

1 No. 2 1/2 tin tomatoes (28 oz)

2 TBSP flour

3/4 lb spaghetti

1/8 lb sharp cheese, grated

Heat the bacon drippings and brown the onion.  Add the hamburger and brown, crumbling well.  Run the tomatoes through a sieve and add then to the pan along with the salt.  Simmer 15-20 minutes.  Blend the flour with 1/4 c. cold water and add to the sauce about 5 minutes before it’s done to thicken.  Meanwhile, cook the pasta in 4 quarts of boiling water with 4 tsp of salt for about 20 minutes (or as long as you can stand it before shouting “al dente!”) Top the pasta with the sauce and sprinkle with cheese.  Buon appetito!

1020 Buttered Celery

2 1/2 cups celery (serves 5)

melted butter to taste

Meta recommends using the outside branches after consuming the tasty hearts raw.  Clean, cut away blemishes and cut lengthwise into two or three strips.  Cut into 1/2 in pieces.  Cover with boiling, salted water and cook about 10-15 minutes.  Drain and add butter.  Be sure to save your cooking water to add to another recipe.

Leave a Reply

