Friday, February 28th

Breakfast:

freshly cut grapefruit

Poached Eggs on toast 391

coffee for adults (cocoa for children)

Luncheon:

Raw Cauliflower Salad 783 (substituted Cooked Cauliflower Salad 782)

buttered toast

honey

Stewed Prunes 301

tea for adults (milk for children)

Dinner:

Salmon Patties 432

Parsley Buttered Potatoes 1069

Creamed Peas 1060

whole wheat bread and butter

lettuce wedges, Russian Dressing 846

Apple Crumble 258

coffee for adults (milk for children)

I was surprised to see that I haven’t tried 391 Poached Eggs yet since it is one of my favorite breakfast items.  The recipe is identical to the way I usually make them; I’m glad I’ve been doing it right. 🙂

2.28.14 Breakfast

I accidentally made 782 Cooked Cauliflower Salad instead of 783 Raw Cauliflower Salad.  In my defense, they have the exact same ingredients (cauliflower, cheese, lettuce and 841 French Dressing).  For some reason the raw version requires slightly more cheese and dressing.  It wasn’t terrible, but it reminded me of a bizarre diet dish on one of those diets in which I’m incapable of lasting a full week.  The toast and honey were quite good.

2.28.14 Lunch

Fortunately, dinner was mighty tasty.  It only took me 20 minutes to make it (which I’m afraid is reflected in the sloppy platting and poor qualify photo; sorry about that).  I must admit I have a thing for canned salmon.  432 Salmon Patties were moist and flavorful with a nice crunch from the celery.  It went really well with the creamed peas.

2.28.14 Dinner

Dessert was pretty good, but the topping was gooey instead of crispy.  I suppose the name is Apple Crumble instead of apple crisp, but I kinda was expecting a crunchy topping (unless this was due to the long time I left between baking and serving?) It was still plenty tasty due to the brown sugar and butter.

2.28.14 Dessert

I vote lunch a loss, but breakfast and dinner still made this a worthwhile menu.

432 Salmon Patties

1 1-lb tin pink or red salmon

2 eggs, slightly beaten

1 cup seasoned mashed potatoes or 1/2 cup fine bread crumbs

salt and pepper to suit taste

1 TBSP lemon juice

1/4 cup shortening

Drain salmon and remove skin and bones.  Mash.  Melt shortening in a skillet.  Add the rest of the ingredients to the salmon and mix well.  Shape into patties of 1/4 cup.  Brown patties on both sides.  Garnish with parley and lemon wedges if desired.  Makes 5 servings.

258 Apple Crumble

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

1/3 cup shortening (half butter)

4 cups peeled, cored and sliced apples (about 3 large apples)

Cut shortening into the flour and sugar until crumbly.  Place apples in a baking dish and sprinkles sugar mixture over the top.  Bake for about 30 minutes in a 375 degree oven.  Makes 5 to 6 servings.

Leave a Reply

