Monday, March 17th

Breakfast:

freshly sliced oranges

Poached Eggs 391, toast, butter

coffee for adults (milk for children)

Luncheon:

Beef Bouillon 977a

soda crackers

Apple and Pineapple Rolls 32

Cottage Cheese Salad 789

tea for adults (milk for children)

Dinner:

Veal Paprika 585

Mashed Potatoes 1077

Buttered Corn with green peppers 1025

celery hearts

whole wheat bread and butter

Golden Feather Cake 118 (save half for Tuesday dinner) (substituted Two-Egg Cake 115 with Butter Cream Frosting 132)

raspberries

coffee for adults (milk for children)

The orange this morning was really colorful and sweet.  With the 391 Poached Eggs on toast, I was quite satisfied with this breakfast.

3.17.14 Breakfast

The menu for lunch sounded a bit odd to me.  What is the purpose of the bouillon? It’s listed in the soup section of the book, but I’ve previously only used it as an ingredient.  I crumbled up the crackers and mixed them into the bouillon in order not to feel silly using a spoon to eat it.

Also, 32 Apple and Pineapple Rolls were a pain in the buttocks to make.  It filled my entire sink with dishes.  I have to admit, it was fantastic (despite the less than picture-worthy results below).

3.17.14 Lunch

585 Veal Paprika featured an ingredient I haven’t encountered in a Meta recipe before:  a clove of garlic.  I wonder what the ’40s housewife did with the rest of the bulb (or could you buy it a clove at a time?)  The results of the recipe were meaty and satisfying with the distinct taste of garlic.  I’m still not sure if paprika has a flavor, but it did contribute a nice color.

Since this day fell on St. Patrick’s day, I replaced the mashed potatoes (made previously) with colcannon and the whole wheat bread with Irish soda bread.

The picture of dinner involves a stealth cat appearance.  I have three cats, but somehow, Boma is always the one who photo-bombs my Meta pictures.

3.17.14 Dinner 2

I’ve previously made 118 Golden Feather Cake, so I substituted 115 Two-Egg Cake in the hope that I’ll be able to finish this project within my life-span.  This, like the rolls, was a lot of work.  My first impression was that it wasn’t quite as good as a box of Pillsbury Funfetti cake.  However, it grew on me.  The texture was a bit on the dry side, but still pleasing and less sweet than a standard cake (a good thing for me).   The frosting was thick (but that was probably my fault). There also wasn’t quite enough frosting to frost the sides.  I added a ton of sprinkles to camouflage my frosting defects.

3.17.14 Dessert

32 Apple and Pineapple Roll

2 cups all-purpose flour

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 cup shortening

2/3 cup milk

2 TBSP butter, melted

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 1/2 cups chopped peeled apple (about 1 large)

1 No. 2 tin crushed pineapple, drained (20 oz or 2 1/2 cups)

1 TBSP melted butter

3 TBSP brown sugar

Sift flour and resift with baking powder and salt.  Cut in shortening.  Add milk and stir just until dough stiffens.  Turn out on floured board and roll into 1/4 inch thick rectangle.

Mix the granulated sugar, cinnamon and 2 TBSP melted butter and spread over dough.

Mix apple and pineapple and spread over dough.

Roll  the dough up tightly and cut into 9 to 12 slices, about one inch thick.

Pour the 1 TBSP melted butter in an 8 inch square baking pan.  Sprinkle the brown sugar over it.  Place the rolls in the pan, cut side up.

Bake at 425 for 25 to 30 minutes.

585 Veal Paprika

1 1/2 lbs boneless veal

1 clove garlic, sliced

5 TBSP butter

1/4 cup water

1 cup thick sour cream

1 tsp paprika

salt, to taste

Cut veal into 1 inch dice.  Melt the butter in a pan and saute the veal and garlic until the veal is browned.  Add water, cover and simmer until veal is tender (about an hour).   Add sour cream, paprika and salt and reheat to boiling.  Makes 5 servings.

Leave a Reply

