Sunday, April 20th

Breakfast:

grapefruit

wheat biscuits with top milk

toast with butter

Quince Honey 713

coffee for adults (cocoa for children)

Dinner:

Beef and Vegetable Pie 501

Tossed Vegetable Salad 825 and 841

whole wheat bread and butter

Peach Meringue 292

coffee for adults (milk for children)

Supper:

Grilled Denver Sandwiches 886

Fruit Buttermilk 13 

I wasn’t 100% sure what “wheat biscuits” meant but I figured the shredded wheat biscuits from my childhood were close enough.

Quince honey sounds good but, of course, I was unable to find it at the store.  In fact, they didn’t have any quince jams or jellies, which surprised me a bit.  I settled for honey on my toast.  I once bought a fresh quince at the store, never having tried one before, and attempted to eat it like an apple.  Mistake.

I’ve had 501 Beef and Vegetable Pie fairly recently (3/31) since I used it to substitute for a “variety” meat recipe, but it’s good comfort food and worth a revisit.  It may look like there is no crust on the pie this time, but it’s crumbled in pieces in there somewhere. Pastry is my cooking arch-nemesis.

The tossed vegetable salad was really fresh and spring-y.  Meta uses the shopping list section (handily printed right next to the menu) to suggest variations on a recipe.  For the salad, she listed cucumbers, tomatoes, celery and radishes.  Yum!

4.20.14 Dinner

292 Peach Meringue was all kinds of awesome.  I really liked the crunchy texture of the meringue against the soft peaches.  The hint of almond flavoring really added something too.

4.20.14 Dessert

886 Grilled Denver Sandwiches for supper was right up my alley.  So yummy!  Although, I technically had two servings of egg on my sandwich since one didn’t seem like enough.  I’ve tried 13 Fruit Buttermilk previously and my notes say “nasty,” so I went with canned pears and milk to achieve nutritional parity.

4.20.14 Supper

292 Peach Meringue

1/4 tsp cream of tartar

1/8 tsp almond extract

1/8 tsp vanilla

1/8 tsp salt

2 egg whites

1/2 cup granulated sugar

6 peaches or 12 canned peach halves

Add egg whites, cream of tartar, extracts and salt to a large glass or metal bowl.  Beat until very foamy. Continue beating while gradually adding sugar until stiff peaks form.  Draw a 7 inch circle on a piece of parchment paper and pipe or spoon the meringue on the circle, building up sides.  Bake at 250 for 1 1/2 to 2 hours until dry and crisp.  Let cool.  Just before serving, peel and slice peaches and heap onto meringue.  (Sprinkle with a little sugar if using fresh).  Makes 5 servings.

886 Denver Sandwiches

5 eggs

2 TBSP chopped onion

1/3 cup chopped green pepper

salt and pepper to suit taste

10 slices buttered bread or toast

Beat eggs and mix with onion and pepper.  Butter a 9 or 10 inch skillet and cook eggs over low heat until firm.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and cut into 5 pieces.  Put pieces between bread or toast.  Makes 5 servings.

Leave a Reply

