Sunday, October 5th

Breakfast:

blue plums (substituted Stewed Prunes 301)

Hot Whole Wheat Cereal 170 with top milk

toast with butter

Jelly 709 (grape)

coffee for adults (milk for children)

Dinner:

Stewed Chicken, gravy 688, Mashed Potatoes 1077

Buttered Peas 1060

Tomato and Lettuce Salad 806

bread and butter

Dutch Apple Pie 637

coffee for adults (milk for children)

Supper:

Buttermilk Waffles 63 (substituted Sweet Milk Waffles 62)

Syrup 924

bananas

tea for adults (milk for children)

I usually avoid Sundays (Meta menus I mean, not in the time travel sense), because the idea of a giant meal in the middle of the day and a little one at night doesn’t work well for me, blood-sugar wise.  Also, saying the word “supper” makes me feel like I’m an eight-year-old visiting rural Kansas relatives.  (Not the most exciting way to spend holidays, but my aunt did have Excitebike for Super Nintendo, so there was that).

Standard satisfying Meta breakfast.  Blue plum season has evidently already ended in the Kansas City area, so I made 301 Stewed Prunes instead.

10.5.14 Breakfast

In consideration of my blood sugar levels, I did switch around dinner and supper.  I also added some sausage (you know, proteins, etc…and YAY PORK!)

10.5.14 Supper

I’ve made 63 Buttermilk Waffles before, so in hopes of finishing this project someday, I substituted 62 Sweet Milk Waffles.  Both are ridiculously good, but a slight edge goes to the buttermilk version for the lovely tang.

Dinner/supper was perfect comfort food (as usual).  My husband spent all day painting the deck, so he finished this in about 7 minutes.

10.5.14 Dinner

And apple pie!  This is pr0bably the prettiest pie I’ve ever made.  Not that it has a lot of competition. My pastry making skills are improving, ever so incrementally.  Also, someday I hope to figure out how to cut a slice and remove it from the pan in one piece.

10.5.14 Dessert 2

62 Sweet Milk Waffles

2 c. all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

2 eggs, separated

1 3/4 c. sweet milk

1/3 c. melted shortening

3 TBSP. sugar

Sift and measure flour and re-sift with baking powder and salt.  Beat egg yolks, milk and shortening and stir into flour.  Beat until smooth.  Beat eggs whites until stiff and add sugar in two portions.  Fold into batter.  Bake on a hot waffle iron until golden brown.  6 or 7 waffles.

637 Dutch Apple Pie

plain pastry for single crust

7 or 8 tart cooking apples

3 TBSP. of butter

3/4 c. sugar

1/2 tsp. cinnamon, if desired

Roll out pastry to 1/8 inch thick and place in 8-inch pie pan. Trim off excess and flute.  Peel, quarter and core apples.  Cut each quarter into four slices, lengthwise.  Melt butter and toss with apples until coated.  Add sugar and cinnamon and toss again.  Arrange apples in the pan (slightly heaped in the center).   Bake at 450 for about 20 minutes, until crust is well browned.  Cover with another pie pan, reduce heat to 325 and continue baking about 30 more minutes until apples are tender.  Remove cover and cool before cutting.  Optional:  Cover with 638 Streusel Topping prior to baking (skip covering with pie pan.  Makes 5 to 6 servings.

638 Streusel Topping

3/4 c. flour

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/3 c. light brown sugar, firmly packed

1/3 c. butter

Mix flour and cinnamon thoroughly.  Stir in sugar.  Cream the butter and work into the flour mixture.  Sprinkle crumbly mixture over the top of the pie.

3 thoughts on “Sunday, October 5th

  1. I’m glad you commented on my cole-slaw, which prompted me to check back on your Meta blog, otherwise I might have missed this post. I haven’t had cream of wheat or stewed prunes since I was a child, breakfast for dinner has always been a huge favorite at our home – but that might be because I’m not a morning person. I’d never in a zillion years get up on a work day and make waffles, for instance! And that apple pie looks positively fantastic! I’m betting you made the right call on the streusel. Interesting method of cooking the pie open-faced! Lovely post!

    Like

  2. Hello – I am looking for the Almond Butter Crescent cookie recipe from Meta Given’s cookbook. I have recently moved and my book is in storage. I make these every Christmas and would appreciate if someone can provide the recipe.
    Thank you.

    Like

    • Hi Dee–Sorry for the delay. I hope this is still in time.

      1/2 cup almonds, blanched
      3/4 cup plus 2 TBSP all-purpose flour
      1/8 tsp salt
      1/2 cup butter or margarine
      1/3 cup sifted xxxx sugar, pkd
      1/2 tsp vanilla
      1/4 tsp almond extract
      xxxx sugar

      Have baking sheet ready–do not grease. Start oven 10 min before baking; set to 325. Put almonds through nut or food chopper using coarse blade. Sift flour, measure, resift with salt. Cream soft butter until shiny, add sugar, put through sieve; cream well. Stir in flavorings, then almonds and flour. Knead dough to blend smoothly. Divide dough in half, then lay on board and with palms of hands roll each into a rope 15 inches long. Cut ropes into 1-inch lenghts, then roll each piece between palms until 2 inches long. Place on baking sheet, curing into crescent-shape. Bake 15 to 17 min or until a pale golden color. Remove at once to cake rack, then sift xxxx sugar over tops.

      Like

Leave a Reply

